Jane Eyre

I’ve just finished reading this classic book and I feel as though I should give a book report of sorts (side note-I managed to make it through 4 years of high school English classes and not read any of the required books but still pass. There was a time this was something I was rather proud of. Feeling like I had outsmarted the system but I now realize I really missed out and am taking it upon myself to read some of these literary classics) Hopefully recapping these details and the feelings associated with them will help me remember this wonderful story well enough to recall the details if need be when I finally find myself a student again. So onto my “report”

I really enjoyed this book. I identified with Jane in the beginning of the book. I was experiencing a similar personality to Mrs. Reed in my own life. A person who couldn’t be pleased no matter what you did or how hard you tried and on some occasions extra effort was rewarded with extra correction. Identifying with Jane helped to draw me into the story. I was outraged that Mrs. Reed locked Jane into the red room and then extended her stay there to the point a physician was required- Oh, but not a physician those were only for Mrs. Reed and her “little angels”  it was an apothecary for Jane. I was very excited for her to get away from Mrs. Reed and go to Lowood.  My heart fell into when Mr. Brocklehurst stood her upon the stool and announced she was a liar basing his information solely on the word of Mrs. Reed. This event seemingly ruined her reputation and chance to start fresh. But Helen and Ms. Temple stood by her and that was something that gave me hope for her. Once Mrs. Temple verified the accusations were false she publicly cleared Jane. This justice was sweet and satisfying!  When Helen passed in Jane’s unknowing arms I felt sadness and peace…there was no place else Helen would have rather been- with the exception of where she ended up- with her Master and LORD. The rest of Jane’s account of her time at Lowood seems vague to me. I think that may be because after Helen’s passing there weren’t too many notable details until she advertised herself and was employed in the service of Mr. Rochester. From this point in the story onward I couldn’t stop reading unless the lids of my eyes were shut. Love, tragedy and victory all wrapped into one tale with such a brief but wonderful conclusion. Jane and Mr. Rochester fell in love and I was taken a back. I was not expecting him to go for her. I was fully convinced right along with Jane that he would marry Ms. Blanche Ingram. To my surprise and hers he was only trying to make Jane jealous but I am not completely sure he succeeded because she loved him so truly she wanted happiness for him and was at peace with the notion that his happiness was found with Ms. Ingram. at this point Jane set off to visit the Dying Mrs., Reed and was gone for quite a while. Upon her return Mr. Rochester took her to see the new coach purchased for his bride to be. Jane assumed he meant Blanche but she soon found out this was not the case. Her absence made his heart grow even fonder. Mr. Rochester’s heart lain elsewhere he asked Jane to be his bride. What a proposal in the orchard while it rained and yet they didn’t care because their true hearts where finally know to the other. How wonderfully romantic! The wedding preparation began. When they made it all the way to the alter, I was convinced they would be man and wife by that day’s end. Unfortunately, I was wrong and the underlying mystery was revealed. The midnight fire that Jane saved Mr. Rochester from and the very scary vision Jane saw on her wedding day were unveiled at once and at the same moment the plan of their marriage was dissolved.  Mr. Rochester already had a wife- a mad woman kept locked in the attic but nevertheless, legally a living breathing wife whom he was bound to until death. I was so saddened by this. I must confess that if I been in the same situation I would have stayed with my love in spite of the mad woman and possible opinions. But Jane didn’t do that. She was more noble than I. She snuck away in the middle of the night only to spend four days starving and begging. Finally the Rivers family took her in. Mr. St. John Rivers, Diana and Mary, all siblings, took Jane in and nursed her back to health. St. John found her employment as a headmistress of the local school for girls. She was back on her feet. I was glad for it but still held the wish that she might have stayed with Mr. Rochester. My wishes aside I, along with Jane, discovered that Her uncle had passed and left her 20,000 pounds along with that discovery was the fact that the Rivers’ were Jane’s cousins! Jane’s uncle John was also their Uncle John. He was the brother of Jane’s father and St. John, Diana and Mary’s mother. A feud between Uncle John and the River’s mother excluded them from the inheritance. Feud aside Jane saw it fit that the 20,000 should be split 4 ways between them. She was so glad to have kin. She left her duties at the school and moved to Moohr House- the River’s residence. Where she resided until St. John asked her to marry him, not for love but because he had watched her over the past 10 months and thought she would be an excellent missionaries wife. Jane would not have it- she had tasted true love and would settle for nothing before she would settle for a loveless marriage. She set off to find her way back to Mr. Rochester. Upon reaching Thornfield Hall she found it in ruin after a terrible fire. After some investigation she determined Mr. Rochester was alive but blind and without one of his hands. There was only one fatality in the fire…Bertha, Mr. Rochester’s mad wife. He was a free man! She found out his location and went there at once. After some time to adjust to the fact that she was truly there and not some figment of his imagination He again asked for her hand in marriage and they were married a few days later. Jane brought Adele home from school and found a more suitable institution for her that was close enough for visits. Mr. Rochester regained vision in one eye- not complete but enough to be independent. It was also enough to see his first born child! St. John went off into the mission field and gave his life for the cause. Although he was angered by Jane’s rejection of his proposal he continued to write her often. Diana and Mary married and came to visit every other year. On the off years the Rochester’s want to visit them.  How great a life Jane ended up with. A wealthy husband whom she actually loved quite well, a child of her own and an inheritance which brought into light kin she knew nothing of prior and best of all peace that she had done all she could to stay within God’s will in spite of her cousin St. John’s thoughts on the matter.

The mention of religious belief was interesting. I was not surprised by the legalism and hell fire and brimstone mentality but I did find it frustrating. I was especially frustrated by St. Johns attempt to tell Jane that if she rejected his proposal of marriage it was not him she rejected but God and God’s will. Religion has always been used to control people. It seemed only the religiously elite were afforded the luxury of actual spirituality and theology. The characters in this story all managed to have at the very least some small bit of faith. I wonder if it was more so out of their fear of hell or the realization of their need for God. I guess there really isn’t an answer for the characters in this story but it is not a question I haven’t wondered of real people as well…I am glad it is not my job to judge the hearts of men.

I read in the preface there were some thoughts that this book included a feministic theme. I failed to fully see it but think my oversight is partially due to the rights and privileges I consider normal that were at one time disallowed for women.

I am somewhat saddened that I have finished Jane Eyre. The story was quite captivating. I very much enjoyed my time spend reading it and am sure I will start on a new story very soon.

This entry was posted in Book reports. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Jane Eyre

  1. ashley says:

    you should read Wuthering Heights next. just be sure the copy you get has a genealogy somewhere–it’s very hard to keep the characters and their relationships straight without one.

Leave a comment